The Hidden Tomb of Slaggoth the Necromancer…

     The long lost Tomb of the evil necromancer Slaggoth, is buried deep with in a cavern complex. The caves have become the home of a trio of ogres and their band of goblin henchmen. The goblins guard the entrance by watching through a small crack in the rock above the entrance, alerting the other goblins when anyone approaches the entrance. The goblins will then unleash a small pack of wolves that they have chained in the front caves against the intruders. If the wolves are not enough to repel the intruders, the goblins will send a runner across the wooden rope bridge to the ogre lair to warn their masters and will use ambush and retreat tactics to slow down the intruders. In the ogre cave is a massive steel door that leads to the hidden tome of the evil Necromancer Slaggoth. They have never been able to breach the door, so the tomb has remained untouched. Rumors of a key to the steel door is hidden somewhere in the caves, but has yet to be found. What horrers lie within Slaggoth’s tomb? Who is brave enough or foolhardy enough to find out?

     This is another new map I drew over the last two days. Click on the imge for a full page PDF, as always enjoy.

Slaggoth Tomb

¶¶¶¶¶

¶¶¶¶¶

18 responses to “The Hidden Tomb of Slaggoth the Necromancer…”

  1. Absolutely love it and the back story!! Totally going to flesh out a Heroes & Other Worlds adventure for this!

    1. I was thinking the same thing….

  2. Great chasms and a fine bridge. Far better than the ones I draw.

    1. I don’t know, yours are still the best….and you produce so much more than I do. But thanks for the kind words.

  3. This is a really beautiful map, damn. I wish I had half of your talent!

    Are you working on a full key for this dungeon, or leaving that up to those who use it?

    1. I am not making a full key right now, I usually leave it up to anyone who wants to use it. I mostly just draw these things, but thank you for the compliment. I think Fenway5 will be keying it up soon. If you decide to use it and key it up, send me your keyed version and I’d be happy to post it here. Like always any of my maps here are free to use. Thanks again for checking out my stuff….Game on!!

      1. Ya know, I may just do that. I’ve been in the mood to work on some oldschool dungeon stuff lately.

      2. After seeing your stuff on the Order of the Gavel, I’d love to see what you come up with. One of the most enjoyable things for me is to see where others take these maps, often its completely not what I was imagining as I draw, but always better than what I imagined..!!!

      3. If you wouldn’t mind clarifying, what are the speckled areas with the white spots? Are they meant to be accessible, or no?

      4. Those are just another form of cross hatching, kind of like rocks and dirt, not accessible. I used to use them only on my verticle maps, but I like the style, so I started incorporating them into my regular maps as well. I want to ask, would you be cool with me linking your site on my list-o-links..??

      5. It would be an honor to be up there.

        I need to work out a better system for that myself. I don’t want to overwhelm people with dozens of links on my sidebar, but I don’t like leaving so many wonderful blogs un-linked-to. It’s something I’d like to address in a site redesign eventually.

      6. The honor is mine, I will be linking you up. I can relate to not wanting a huge amount of links on the side bar, but then again there are some blogs I visit just to see all those links….to see what everyone else is up to.

      7. There, it’s a done deal….you are linked. I am looking forward to see what you do with any of my maps.

      8. I’m just about done with this. I’d like to get it finalized and typed up today. I normally try to keep room descriptions as brief as possible (for ease of reference) but I’ve been unusually verbose with this map. I’m up to ~10 handwritten pages I think.

        How would you like for me to send you the files when it is eventually ready? And would you mind if I posted your map and the key on Papers & Pencils (with attribution of course)?

      9. LS, you are more than welcome to post it on your site, I’d love a copy of it myself, you can send whatever files you create to me at astone@allnativeservices.com I’ll post them here as well, giving you full credit for your work. Look forward to seeing what you came up with..!!!

      10. The email has been sent! I eagerly await your thoughts.

      11. I got it and sent you back a reply….great work sir!!!!

  4. […] J. Stone. A low-level adventure, it’s fairly compact in 14 pages of content, and originally started life as a map by Stonewerks (Adrian J. Stone) that inspired Nick to write a dungeon around it. After continuing discussion, […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.