…..Friday’s “Mystery Meat”…..

·

~ Attention. Here’s an update on tonight’s dinner. It was veal. I repeat, veal. The winner of tonight’s mystery meat contest is Jeffrey Corbin who guessed “some kind of beef.”~

     “And now for something completely different.” Welcome to yet another Friday’s “Mystery Meat”.  Tonight I was looking through some old D&D stuff of mine, trying to come up with something I wanted to post for the “Mystery Meat” tonight. I found some things that I was thinking of posting, but nothing was really grabbing me. I was flipping through loose pages of stuff when I found this little gem. A Traveller starship, “The Raven”, I created this around 1984-85. I have never played Traveller, but I do own the original boxed set of rules. I am a huge, huge fan of all things Sci-Fi, which is why I got the game. Interestingly enough, I found that generating characters, worlds, sub-sectors and starships was a very creative exercise with Traveller’s random generation tables. It was a lot fun rolling dice and piecing together the results. I’ve heard them often described as “mini-games” in other blogs. I think (but not 100% sure) it was on Grognardia that I heard about a “Traveler Character Generator” program. I downloaded it last summer, and proceeded to waste quite a few hours trying to generate my “ideal” version of a Scout or Merchant character. Check it out, it’s kind of addicting. I used just the rulebook when I created this, and I’m no expert on Traveller rules, but I think I tried very hard to follow the rules to the letter generating this. I love the way this thing turned out, it’s a little beat up and you can even see a coffee stain on it. I would really enjoy taking this thing out for a spin around a sub-sector or two.  I present, The Raven EXD-5200S-RVN an Explorer Class Ship (Type D).

NOTE: This is the orignal drawing on some graph paper, I only enhanced the contrast in Photoshop, just to make it a little easier to view. If anyone does take this out for a test drive, I’d love to here of your exploits with her.

¶¶¶¶¶

¶¶¶¶¶

One response to “…..Friday’s “Mystery Meat”…..”

  1. Very cool. I must say I like this more than I like my own ship that i created for Traveller. Your’s looks like a great ship for PCs to have.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.